Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum

Go Back   Zilvia.net Forums | Nissan 240SX (Silvia) and Z (Fairlady) Car Forum > General > Chat

Chat General Discussion About The Nissan 240SX and Nissan Z Cars

Old 11-06-2011, 05:55 PM   #1
s73

Trader Rating: (0)
s73 is an unknown quantity at this point
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
just purchased a used KA Trans....Questions

Just purchased a used KA trans as a back up of my current one...my current one dont want to go into 1st at times and grinds 2nd...

Ok here are the questions....i am pretty new to the 240 world, so please bear with me....

when i purchase the used ka trans it was sitting vertical, with the bellhousing towards the concrete. I didnt think too much of it and lifted in my truck and took it home.

After i got home i realized something, the KA input shaft stick pass the bell housing!!! So.....if the original owner had it sitting up right....its bascially resting on the input shaft!!!! And God knows how long its been sitting like that! I realized that it cant be good, most people uses 2x4's or something to keep the weight of the trans off the input shaft when having the trans up-right like that, the original owner didnt do anything like that.....

Just wondering if that does any damage to the input shaft / trans? Is this something i should be worried about?

I would hate to take off my old trans/flywheel/clutch and install the new one to realize that i just wasted all that time installing a bad tranny!

any info would be great....thanks for reading the long post.

thanks in advance.
s73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old 11-06-2011, 06:18 PM   #2
s13 @ fullboost
Post Whore!

Trader Rating: (15)